The EPA and Washington State Department of Commerce require all contractors who may disturb lead paint paint on pre-1978 homes take a class to become a "Certified Renovator" and then register their firm.
The fines hurt: Up to $37,500 for each violation.
Anyone disturbing more than 6 square feet of lead-based paint on the interior or 20 square feet on the exterior must get the training. This includes remodelers, painters, plumbers, electricians, maintenance personnel and property managers.
Certified Renovators must attend a four-hour "Certified Renovator Refresher" course every five years.
Is it time for your refresher course? Two classes are scheduled in January. Come learn what's new in the RRP Rule. To comply with this law, contractors must have one Certified Renovator on staff and have their company certified with the EPA (or Washington State Department of Commerce) for a $50 fee. And to remain a Certified Renovator, you must have someone from your firm take a 4-hour re-certification course with a hands-on component.
The classes are set form 8:00 a.m. to Noon and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on January 27, 2015 at the BNCW conference room, 2201 N. Wenatchee Ave., Wenatchee. The cost is $155.00 for BNCW members and $185.00 for non-members. Classes are limited to 10 students each.
For information call 509-293-5840